In an Effort to Unstick Myself

So, I was doing really well with the blogging for a good chunk of my road trip. I had some followers, and I was posting with some regularity. It was hard though. I didn’t know when I started this blog that it would be so time-consuming. A lot of that stems from the fact that I am teaching myself how to use WordPress, and have been struggling with posting pictures on the site. So there were times when I would sit in a coffeeshop for HOURS trying to craft the perfect blog post, both because I am a perfectionist at times, and because of the learning curve of using a new system. My first priority on my trip was to experience every moment of it as fully as possible, and I think I accomplished that. In doing so however, the blog suffered, and I never ended up finishing it.

So here is my dilemma. I want to keep blogging. But all of the stuff that happened on my trip that I neglected to write about in real time, is no longer what’s most present for me. Apparently I’ve made this weird rule for myself that I am not allowed to blog about anything else until my road trip blog is finished. I am aware that this is silly and that I can write about whatever I want whenever I want, but there’s an OCD side of me that is screaming “no! if you don’t finish the road trip blog first then you won’t be able to go back and finish it because then things won’t be written chronologically!” What then, obsessive inner critic? Answer me that. What is so unbearable about writing out of chronological order or, worse yet, just neglecting to ever finish my travel blog? Will my computer explode? Will people boycott my blog? Will WordPress banish me from their site? No. So shut your mouth voice. I will no longer be held captive by my unfinished blog. I will forge ahead and write about what I want. And if some day I am motivated to write about Bryce Canyon, Moab, Arches National Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, Boulder, Red Rocks, and our 40 hour blast back to Massachusetts from Colorado, then I will. For now, that’s all you get, but hopefully I’ll find the motivation to elaborate on those more because all that stuff was pretty awesome and I do want to share about it. I think I will try to figure out how to categorize my blog posts and make a little travel section, in which I will finish the road trip blog, and then I will create other sections to talk about all the other stuff that comes up, and not have it get in the way of the chronology of my account of my trip. So I guess in a way I’m conceding to the anal inner self that has a weird aversion to non-chronology (and asymmetry too, for that matter). But it’s better than continuing to let the voice paralyze me and prevent the blog from progressing.

Ok, so now I’m ready to blog in real time! Yay!

Leave a Reply

